Ralph E. Roughton Paper Award

The Ralph Roughton Paper Award was established in 1998 to honor the founding Chairperson of APsaA’s Committee on Gay and Lesbian Issues.  In its first decade, it offered formal recognition to outstanding published papers that deepened our psychoanalytic understanding of gay men and lesbians.   In 2007, the mission of the Award was changed.  In the years that it is awarded, the Ralph Roughton Paper Award is now given to an unpublished manuscript that, in the opinion of the judges, makes an original and outstanding contribution to the psychoanalytic understanding and/or treatment of lesbian, gay, bisexual, queer, trans*, or gender-variant people. 
The Award carries a cash prize of $1,000 and the author of the winning paper will be invited to present it at the National Meeting of the American Psychoanalytic Association in New York. The winner may submit the paper for review by the Journal of American Psychoanalytic Association and, if accepted, it will be published as the winner of the Ralph Roughton Paper Award.


Committee on Gender & Sexuality of the American Psychoanalytic Association

Submission Guidelines

Papers must be unpublished (but may have been presented at professional meetings) and must conform to the Preparation of Manuscript guidelines outlined by the Journal of the American Psychoanalytic Association with the exception that the length should not exceed 30 double-spaced typed pages. Paper submissions are welcome from anyone regardless of institutional affiliation.  Submissions are due June 1.  Email one Word document containing the manuscript with all references to the author deleted, and email a second Word document containing the author’s name, email address, address, phone number, and any institutional affiliation to Carol B. Levin, M. D.

View past award winners.


Co-Chairs, Ralph Roughton Paper Award
Don Spivak, M.D.

Carol B. Levin, M.D.