2018 National Meeting

Award Winners from the 2018 National Meeting

Candidates’ Council Psychoanalytic Paper Prize

Frank Tisano, M.S.W., “Excluding the Excluders, Excluding Ourselves: The College Campus Today”

Semifinalist: Mead Goedert, Ph.D., “Shamed If You Do, Shamed If You Don’t: Clinical Encounters with Social Class”

CORST Essay Prize in Psychoanalysis and Culture

Christopher W. Miller M.D., for his essay “Confusion of Tears: The Deadened Oedipal Couple and Predatory Identifications in The Rape of Lucrece”

2018 Courage to Dream Book Prize

Anne C. Dailey, J.D., for her book Law and the Unconscious: A Psychoanalytic Perspective

APsaA Schools Committee Anna Freud Educational Achievement Award

Donna Elmendorf, Ph.D., Claudia Gold, M.D., and Kate Jewson, B.S., for their Human Development Initiative, centered in the Erikson Institute for Education and Research at the Austen Riggs Center of Stockbridge, Massachusetts

Award for Excellence in Journalism

Kathleen McGrory for her article “Worthy of Survival” published in the Tampa Bay Times on November 20, 2016

Honorary Membership

Arietta Slade, Ph.D.
Jerrold Post, M.D.

Helen Meyers Traveling Psychoanalytic Scholar Award

Ann Smolen, Ph.D.

Poster Session Award

Annie Egleson, B.A., Shasha Rudenstine, Ph.D., Leo Cancelmo, M.A., Roberta Goldman, B.A., and Laurel Wright for their poster “Child Psychotherapy Patients in a Community Mental Health Clinic: Clinical Profile and Caregiver Reports of Reasons for Seeking Treatment and Treatment Goals”

Ralph E. Roughton Paper Prize

Janna Sandmeyer, Ph.D., for her paper “Combating Homophobia and Heterosexism in a Seminal Article in the Self Psychology Canon: Rethinking Jule Miller’s ‘How Kohut Actually Worked’“

Edith Sabshin Teaching Awards

Lawrence E. Lifson, M.D.—Boston Psychoanalytic Society & Institute

Patrick Enders, M.D.—Cleveland Psychoanalytic Center

Van Dyke DeGolia, M.D.—New Center for Psychoanalysis

Joan V. Liebermann, M.D., MPH—Washington Baltimore Center for Psychoanalysis

Scientific Paper Prize

Mary Beth Connolly Gibbons, Ph.D., Robert Gallop, Ph.D., Donald Thompson, Ph.D., Debra Luter, Ph.D., Katherine Crits-Christoph, Ph.D., Julie Jacobs, Ph.D., Seohyun Yin, B.A., Paul Crits-Christopf, Ph.D., for their paper “Comparative Effectiveness of Cognitive Therapy and Dynamic Psychotherapy for Major Depressive Disorder in a Community Mental Health Setting” JAMA Psychiatry 2016, 73(9):904-911

2017 Undergraduate Paper Prize

Tung Chau for her paper “Masochism in Three Texts”