Honorary APsaA Membership

Any person who has made an outstanding contribution to the science of psychoanalysis shall be eligible for election as an Honorary APsaA Member.



Committee on Honorary Members (President and Directors-at-Large) of the American Psychoanalytic Association



  1. The name of a potential honorary member is proposed by a voting member of the Association. Nominations often come to the national office which then forwards them to the chair of the Committee on Honorary Membership (currently Jeffrey Seitelman).
  2. A negative vote by more than one member of the committee shall be cause for rejection of the proposed name.
  3. Should the committee favor the proposal, it shall so report to the Board of Directors, which shall decide whether to submit the name to the membership.
  4. Should the committee not favor the proposal, the proposer is to be notified, and the matter held confidential.
  5. In the event that the proposer is dissatisfied with the decision of the committee, s/he may submit the proposed name directly to the Board of Directors at the next meeting of that body, at which time the committee would make known to the Board of Directors the reasons for its rejection of the proposal.
  6. An affirmative vote by at least three-fourths of the councilors present and eligible to vote shall be necessary in order to refer the proposed name to the membership as a whole.
  7. Election to honorary membership at the Meeting of Members shall be by affirmative vote of a majority of the members present and eligible to vote.

View the list of honorary APsaA members.