APsaA Schools Committee Anna Freud Educational Achievement Award

This annual award is presented to a person, school or educational institution that furthers psychoanalytically informed work with Pre-K-12 educators, schools and their students. This prize will be presented during APsaA’s National Meeting. A $1,000 honorarium accompanies the award.


This award is co-sponsored by the Schools Committee of the American Psychoanalytic Association, the International Journal of Applied Psychoanalytic Studies, and the educational journal, Schools: Studies in Education.


The submissions may be based in, but not exclusive to, Pre-K-12 schools, professional development centers, colleges, universities and institutes of education. Applicants are invited to describe how their work is aligned with all of the following criteria:

  • The work is psychoanalytically informed
  • The work includes psychoanalysts and educators working together, and learning from each other
  • The work includes ongoing systematic learning, research or program planning


Initial submissions should be written in a summary of no more than three pages. Longer submissions will not be considered. Finalists will be contacted for further information. Please submit a written or electronic summary of your work, along with a brief curriculum vitae of no more than one page. Paper entries must be accompanied by a self-addressed, stamped envelope for a written reply.  

Deadline December 1

View past prize winners.


John Samuel Tieman, Ph.D.
Educational Achievement Award
P. O. Box 300246
St. Louis, Missouri 63130